After Bhopal, Congress mulling fielding heavyweights in different BJP bastions in Madhya Pradesh


After pronouncing the candidature of senior leader Digvijaya Singh from Bhopal, which the Congress has now not gained because 1989, the birthday party is mulling outstanding leaders from other seats Vidisha and Indore, where it has no longer tasted achievement for closing 15 years or extra.

Bhopal is considered a hard seat for the Congress alongside Indore, Vidisha, Bhind, and Damoh because the BJP has no longer lost in those constituencies because of 1989. Still, the Congress is hoping to build on the recent victory in Assembly polls to dislodge the saffron celebration right here.

Apart from those 5, there are nine different seats out of the overall 29 Lok Sabha constituencies in which the Congress has not received all through the 15-yr BJP rule within the nation.

Chief Minister Kamal Nath has represented Chhindwara in ten instances six times in a row, even as senior party leader and Congress trendy secretary for Uttar Pradesh (West) Jyotiradiya Scindia has been triumphing from Guna due to the fact 2002. These have been the handiest two seats out of 29 received by using the Congress in the 2014 Lok Sabha election, which was swept using the BJP.

bastions in Madhya Pradesh

“The party will clearly area senior leaders in seats like Indore and Vidisha, which it has no longer gained due to the fact 1989,” Madhya Pradesh Congress spokesman Pankaj Chaturvedi advised PTI.

“Like Assembly polls, our celebration this time has sought evaluations of ground degree people from Mandal, block and district to finalize the pleasant candidate who can win from those seats where the party has now not received for lengthy,” he said.

“The birthday party had carried out a similar experiment in the course of meeting polls additionally and had got pleasant effects, and the identical is anticipated in Lok Sabha polls additionally because of anti-Modi sentiment within u. S. A .,” he stated.

The Congress’ choice to discipline former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Digvijaya Singh from Bhopal has already raised the country’s political temperature.

Soon after Singh’s candidature changed into introduced, Ajay Singh, former chief of competition and near confidant of Digvijaya Singh, demanded that the birthday celebration area different senior leaders from hard seats Indore and Vidisha.

Without taking the call of any particular chief, he advised PTI that “the birthday party has a totally tall leader in Chambal Gwalior region and he must be fielded from different hard seats like Indore and Vidisha.”

He turned into apparently referring to Congress’s well-known secretary and Guna MP, Jyotiraditya Scindia. Kamal Nath, Digvijaya Singh, and Scindia have been leading rival factions within the birthday party’s kingdom unit.

The BJP has now not but determined its candidate in Bhopal, and there is speculation that former chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan may be pitted towards Digvijaya Singh. In 2003, Chouhan had contested assembly polls in opposition to Singh from the latter’s domestic constituency Raghogarh in the Guna district.

There are 14 constituencies from which the Congress had no longer received at some point of the BJP rule inside the country, while the saffron celebration failed to wrest Congress stronghold of Chhindwara and Guna.

State BJP’s chief spokesman Deepak Vijaywargiya said, “This time BJP will try and win all the 29 seats within the state and could field robust applicants of the quality of Scindia and Nath of their respective constituencies.”

“The birthday party will discipline the pleasant workers from the last seats of the nation so that it can win from all the constituencies,” he stated.

“Depending upon the competition candidate, the birthday party might also exchange its method on the last second to make sure victory in every constituency,” he brought.

The fourteen seats from wherein the Congress has no longer received since last 15 years are — Bhopal, Indore, Vidisha, Morena, Bhind, Sagar, Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Jabalpur, Balaghat, Betul, and Rewa.

The Congress has introduced Kiran Ahirwar from Tikamgarh, Kavita Singh from Khajuraho, Madhu Bhagat from Balaghat, and Ramu Tekam from Betul.

Except for Rewa, the BJP has been winning from the relaxation of the seats. In 2009, Bahujan Samaj Party’s (BSP) Devraj Singh Patel won from Rewa whilst in 2004 and 2014; the BJP emerged positive from this seat in the Vindhya region, bordering Uttar Pradesh.

Since 1996, the BJP has not misplaced from Morena, Sagar, Jabalpur, and Betul even as it’s far triumphing constantly given that 1998 from Satna and Balaghat.

In the last thirteen seats — Gwalior, Jhabua, Shahdol, Mandla, Hoshangabad, Rajgarh, Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Dhar, Sidhi, Khargone, and Khandwa — there have been blended consequences for the 2 events over the past 15 years.